Search Result

HTC53018900
TAN KEAN SOON
30
Male
Chinese
Public Transport
140065, singapore

Education Background & Teaching Experience

Part-Time Tutor   
University Undergraduate   
Bachelor's Degree
NUS
Materials Science & Engineering
N/A
University/Polytechnic: Years of study Course/Specialization:
NUS 4 Materials Science & Engineering
Teaching Experience Years of experience Name of school, tuition centre, or institution
Part-Time Tutor 2

Subjects

  • Elementary Maths
  • Chemistry

Travel Area

Travel Area

  • Boon Lay
  • Braddell
  • Bugis
  • Bukit Batok
  • Bukit Ho Swee
  • Bukit Merah
  • Buona Vista
  • Chinatown
  • Chinese Garden
  • City Hall
  • Clarke Quay
  • Clementi
  • Commonwealth
  • Dhoby Ghout
  • Dover
  • Farrer Park
  • Harbour Front
  • Holland
  • Katong
  • Lakeside
  • Lavender
  • Little India
  • Marina Bay
  • Newton
  • Novena
  • Orchard
  • Outram Park
  • Queenstown
  • Raffles Place
  • Redhill
  • Somerset
  • Tanglin
  • Tanjong Pager
  • Telok Blangah
  • Tiong Bahru
  • Toa Payoh
  • Tuas
  • Jurong
  • Joo Koon
  • Pioneer

Others

"Every sentient being has the capacity for change."
As an engineer, I am trained to solve problems through analyzing data/information available to me. I can translate this skills to my students to help them solve problems one step at a time (eg: understand the problem, spot the pattern of the problem & develop plans to solve it). I can adjust my teaching style to my students according to their needs. For visual learners, I will encourage them to use imagination and sketch it on A4 paper. For audio learners, I will highlight important key words when conversing with my students.
Based on my 2-years part-time teaching experience with about 15 students, I believe that students can really be driven to improve if they receive proper guidance in dealing with academic roadblocks and they have a long-term vision of what they want to achieve in life. I still remember the moment when one of my students came back and thanked me after he received his A grade in O-level results. I am confident that with my familiarity at O-level syllabus, my ability to mentor on exam specific skills and academic coaching will make help my students to improve their grades consistently.
I graduated with 2nd Upper class honours in Materials Science & Engineering with specialization in Polymeric & Biomedical Materials.