Search Result

Ben Tan
Public Transport
Singapore, singapore

Education Background & Teaching Experience

Full Time tutor   
Bachelor's Degree
Political Science
Diploma in Law & Management
University/Polytechnic: Years of study Course/Specialization:
Teaching Experience Years of experience Name of school, tuition centre, or institution
Full Time Tutor 15
Part-Time Tutor 9
Tuition Center Teacher 2


  • Conversational English
  • English
  • Maths
  • English
  • Elementary Maths
  • Maths
  • Accounting
  • Economics
  • IB Business and Economics

Travel Area

Travel Area

  • Aljunied
  • Ang Mo Kio
  • Bedok
  • Buangkok
  • Chai Chee
  • Changi
  • Eunos
  • Expo
  • Frankel
  • Geylang
  • Hougang
  • Kallang
  • Kembangan
  • Khatib
  • Kovan
  • Macpherson
  • Pasir Ris
  • Paya Lebar
  • Potong Pasir
  • Punggol
  • Sengkang
  • Serangoon
  • Simei
  • Tampines
  • Tanah Merah
  • Yio Chu Kang


"Teach a man to fish..."
I use Explain Everything to teach my students. It is an online interactive whiteboard that allows me to talk to my students while they watch me tackle issues using sequential, colour-coded steps. Samples of my teaching style can be seen here. Students today learn from watching videos. Teaching methods should adapt accordingly and with Explain Everything, students can watch video playbacks of the lesson. Lessons can also be downloaded into mp4 to aid revision in the future. Furthermore, with online learning, students benefit from my experience without exposing themselves to unnecessary health risks. I focus on building close relationships with my students. Only with trust will they take on board what I have shared with them: skills to navigate the subject on their own. They do not need answers. They need the ability to find these answers themselves. I give them that. Mine is not a teacher-student relationship, but a mentor-student one. I am first and foremost a trusted friend, one they can approach long after they graduate for advice. I believe that every student is different, and being a product of the education system, I know firsthand the limitations the system has in dealing with different types of students. My experience tells me that it is possible to explain concepts to every single one of them, and there is no one fixed method. I offer free off-hours urgent schoolwork consultation via WhatsApp when I have a moment from my heavy class load.
3 COMMON CONCERNS 1. You’re not MOE Trained Yes I’m not. What I do have is 20 years of experience and a better track record than many MOE teachers, especially the younger ones without my experience. I am trained in Psychology and have worked with teenagers from all walks of life. I have a great rapport with my students; we’re still friends and they often consult me on educational matters (Poly vs JC, University Courses, etc). It also helps that I’m cheaper than MOE-trained teachers. 2. You’re Too Expensive for a Graduate Tutor Yes I am. You are however paying for quality. Read the testimonials. Look at my samples. I urge you to call my past students and their parents, and find out how I have helped them master their subjects. Let me know I’d be more than happy to set you up. 3. We’re Looking for Female Tutors I would not too if I have a daughter and there’s no one at home to supervise. If you have similar concerns, then fear not. I would prefer to teach online anyway. And it’s cheaper than my physical rates. EXPERIENCE 20 years (11 years Full Time, 9 years Part Time). 2 years in Tuition Centre. Levels Taught • PSLE • GCE N(A) Levels • GCE O Levels • IGCSE • IB • AUSMAT • AEIS • Adult Conversational English • Business English Nationalities Taught • Singaporean • Chinese • Indian • Burmese • Cambodian • Korean • German I have brought students from failing grades to As, within 2 years for English and as short as 6 weeks for Accounts. Multiple times. Though my pedagogy has evolved over time to cater to the changing characteristics of students, my key tenets have remained largely constant. Students will get as much as they are willing to put in. I am only half the story. REFERENCES Name: Alden Lee Subject and level taught: E Math Duration: 1 year Sec 4 Original Grade: C5 Final Grade: A1 “Thanks Ben for your time and patience guiding Alden. He has improved tremendously in his EMaths. If not for your lessons, he won't be getting his As. I will write a proper testimonial, with inputs from Alden and Amelia. God Bless!” Name: Jeremy Chen Jia Jun Subject and level taught: English Duration: 2 years Sec 3 & 4 Original Grade: C6 Final Grade: A2 “Its not just a standard teacher and student relationship. You can really build a bond with the teacher and it makes learning more enjoyable. The teacher also provides many different insights to the world and it really expands one's perspective.” Name: Simone Schweiger (Lais’ Mother, also an educator) Subject and level taught: E Math Duration: Sec 4 Original Grade: E8 Final Grade: B3 “Many thanks for your support! Lais is much more confident and you two did a great job. It is not about the result but the growth during the process. Keep it up! All the best. Thank you. Click here for more testimonials. I’d be happy to arrange for a call for any one of them.
PSLE Math: A*, O Level EM: A1, SAT Math: 700 (93rd Percentile), PSLE English: A*, O Level English: A2, SAT English 650 (87th Percentile), Poly Accounting: A for both modules